Past Champions of Masters Tournament

The Masters Tournament is the first of four major championships each year. The inaugural edition took place in 1934. In 2023, it will be the 87th edition of the tournament. The Masters is the only major championship to use the same course every year; the Augusta National Golf Club. Here we take a look at all past Champions of Masters Tournament.

Horton Smith became the inaugural champion of the Masters, in 1934. Jack Nicklaus won the competition a record six times. The competition did not take place in 1943, 1944, and 1945 for World War II. The 2020 edition was delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Masters Champions by Year

YearCountryChampion ScorePar
2022United StatesScottie Scheffler278-10
2021JapanHideki Matsuyama278-10
2020United StatesDustin Johnson268-20
2019United StatesTiger Woods (5)275-13
2018United StatesPatrick Reed273-15
2017SpainSergio Garcia279-9
2016EnglandDanny Willett283-5
2015United StatesJordan Spieth270-18
2014United StatesBubba Watson (2)280-8
2013AustraliaAdam Scott279-9
2012United StatesBubba Watson278-10
2011South AfricaCharl Schwartzel 274-14
2010United StatesPhil Mickelson (3) 272-16
2009ArgentinaAngel Cabrera276-12
2008South AfricaTrevor Immelman280-8
2007United StatesZach Johnson289+1
2006United StatesPhil Mickelson (2)  281-7
2005United StatesTiger Woods (4)276-12
2004United StatesPhil Mickelson 279-9
2003CanadaMike Weir281-7
2002United StatesTiger Woods (3)276-12
2001United StatesTiger Woods (2)272-6
2000FijiVijay Singh278-10
1999SpainJose Maria Olazabal (2)280-8
1998United StatesMark O’Meara279-9
1997United StatesTiger Woods270-18
1996EnglandNick Faldo (3)276-12
1995United StatesBen Crenshaw (2)274-14
1994SpainJose Maria Olazabal279-9
1993GermanyBernhard Langer (2)277-11
1992United StatesFred Couples275-13
1991WalesIan Woosnam277-11
1990EnglandNick Faldo (2)278-10
1989EnglandNick Faldo283-5
1988ScotlandSandy Lyle281-7
1987United StatesLarry Mize285-3
1986United StatesJack Nicklaus (6)279-9
1985GermanyBernhard Langer282-6
1984United StatesBen Crenshaw277-11
1983SpainSeve Ballesteros (2)280-8
1982United StatesCraig Stadler284-4
1981United StatesTom Watson (2)280-8
1980SpainSeve Ballesteros275-13
1979United StatesFuzzy Zoeller280-8
1978South AfricaGary Player (3)277-11
1977United StatesTom Watson276-12
1976United StatesRaymond Floyd271-17
1975United StatesJack Nicklaus (5)276-12
1974South AfricaGary Player (2)278-10
1973United StatesTommy Aaron283-5
1972United StatesJack Nicklaus (4)286-2
1971United StatesCharles Coody279-9
1970United StatesBilly Casper279-9
1969United StatesGeorge Archer281-7
1968United StatesBob Goalby277-11
1967United StatesGay Brewer280-8
1966United StatesJack Nicklaus (3)288E
1965United StatesJack Nicklaus (2)271-17
1964United StatesArnold Palmer (4)276-12
1963United StatesJack Nicklaus286-2
1962United StatesArnold Palmer (3)280-8
1961South AfricaGary Player280-8
1960United StatesArnold Palmer (2)282-6
1959United StatesArt Wall Jr.284-4
1958United StatesArnold Palmer284-4
1957United StatesDoug Ford283-5
1956United StatesJack Burke Jr.289+1
1955United StatesCary Middlecoff279-9
1954United StatesSam Snead (3)289+1
1953United StatesBen Hogan (2)274-14
1952United StatesSam Snead (2)286-2
1951United StatesBen Hogan280-8
1950United StatesJimmy Demaret (3)283-5
1949United StatesSam Snead282-6
1948United StatesClaude Harmon 279-9
1947United StatesJimmy Demaret (2)281-7
1946United StatesHerman Keiser282-6
1942United StatesByron Nelson (2)280-8
1941United StatesCraig Wood280-8
1940United StatesJimmy Demaret280-8
1939United StatesRalph Guldahl279-9
1938United StatesHenry Picard285-3
1937United StatesByron Nelson283-5
1936United StatesHorton Smith (2)285-3
1935United StatesGene Sarazen282-6
1934United StatesHorton Smith284-4

Masters Tournament Records

  • Most Titles: Jack Nicklaus (6) – in 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, and 1986
  • Oldest Winner: Jack Nicklaus (1986) – 46 years 82 days
  • Youngest Winner: Tiger Woods (1997) – 21 years 104 days
  • Most Consecutive Victories: 2 – Jack Nicklaus, Nick Faldo, Tiger Woods
  • Widest Winning Margin: Tiger Woods (12 Strokes)
  • Lowest Winning Score: Dustin Johnson 268 (-20) in 2020
  • Highest Winning Score: Same Snead (1954), Jack Burke Jr. (1956), and Zach Johnson (2007) – 289 (+1)
Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports.